Bob Bowler, who has spent thousands of hours building and directing an annual summer camp program for Charlotte-area residents with mental disabilities, is among this year’s winners of the Legacy Awards, presented by Leadership Charlotte. Other winners of the 2013 awards are Debra Plousha Moore, Emily Zimmern, Dr. Francis Robicsek, and A Child’s Place.

Leadership Charlotte, a leadership development organization in its fourth decade, annually presents the awards to honor people for achievements in various areas.

Bowler won the Unsung Hero award. He is the organizer of Camp SOAR, a summer camp program for children and adults. Bowler and hundreds of other volunteers annually offer summer camp activities for people who otherwise might not get the opportunity. The camp is hosted by the Levine Jewish Community Center.

Moore, chief human resources officer and executive vice president of Carolinas HealthCare System, won the Newcomer of the Year award. This is given to a person who has lived in Charlotte for less than five years and made significant contributions, both personally and professionally, to the Charlotte area.

Zimmern, president and CEO of the Levine Museum of the New South, won the Schley R. Lyons Circle of Excellence Award. This goes to a Leadership Charlotte program graduate who demonstrates outstanding leadership qualities, in keeping with the organization’s ideals.

Robiscek, a noted surgeon who also is a clinical professor of surgery at the University of North Carolina, won the Lifetime Achievement award. This goes to a person for significant personal and professional contributions to the betterment of Charlotte — and for serving as a role model in voluntary leadership. Robiscek is a longtime leader in a host of community organizations.

A Child’s Place, which offers schooling and shelter for homeless children, won the Community Service Award, given to an organization for improving the quality of life in the region by using creative community services.

The winners will be honored at a breakfast May 9 at Time Warner Cable Arena.

From The Charlotte Observer, March 8, 2013

«« Previous || Next »»